Coconut Chiffon Cake

May 20, 2010

 

 

 

 

 

 

This cake was made by my student, Megan. I like how she set this photo shoot up with the color of the table complimenting the color of the large open roses.

I thought I would share this recipe with everyone because it is a wonderfully light cake with a delicate coconut flavor.

Ingredients:

14 ounces cake flour
1 Tablespoon and 1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
8 eggs separated
14 ounces granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
1 Tablespoon coconut extract
2/3 cup vegetable oil
1 cup coconut milk

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F
Prepare two 10″ cake pans by sticking a round of parchment on the bottom of the pan making sure no pan release is sprayed on the sides of the cake pan. This cake likes to climb up the sides of the pan and it will do that more easily without spray.

Separate 8 eggs and place the whites in the bowl of a heavy duty mixer.

If you have a hand held mixer, place the yolks in a large mixing bowl.

Add 1 cup of coconut milk to the yolks

Add 2/3 cup of vegetable oil to the yolks and coconut milk.

Add 1 Tablespoon of vanilla extract and 1 Tablespoon of coconut extract to the egg yolks, coconut milk and oil.

Sift together 14 ounces of cake flour, 1 Tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon baking powder and 1 teaspoon of salt into a bowl with 10 ounces of granulated sugar.

Whip the egg whites to a soft peak and add 4 ounces of granulated sugar to stabalize the whites.

With a hand held mixer ( of if you are fortunate another heavy duty mixer) blend the yolks, coconut milk and oil plus the extracts together and add the flour, baking powder, salt mixture all at once to the yolks..blend well and then fold in the soft peaked egg whites and fold in well.

Bake at 375 degrees F for 25 – 30 minutes or longer if necessary. The cake should look golden brown and spring back when touched.

I will post a coconut milk mousse that will taste delicious with this cake.

6 Responses to “Coconut Chiffon Cake”

  1. Candice Says:

    Thanks for posting this recipe, Tobey! I can’t wait to try it. I’m sure it’s wonderful, like all your other recipes!

  2. Carolyn Harrison Says:

    Thank you for the wonderful recipe. Made it for my friend and my birthday cake. I couldn’t wait for the coconut mousse recipe so I used your bavarian cream and omitted the vanilla, used coconut milk for the milk and some coconut flavoring. As I live in the tropics I skipped making your IMBC as I have yet to master it for the climate. I called it Coconut dream cake. It was delish and the cake was light and moist. It got nothing but compliments by all who tried it.


  3. Great.. as you can see, I am a bit negligent with my blog, my apologies. We get kind of busy. That is how I make the coconut cream as well. I make a pastry cream using coconut milk. However, I promise I will post another way to make the Bavarian cream as soon as I get home today.
    As for Italian meringue buttercream in hot climates…have you tried heating the sugar syrup to about 250 degrees F. and using extra fatted European style butter? I have found that I can pipe buttercream flowers by using a syrup that is 10 degrees hotter than usual and the extra fatted butter has less water and air in it which makes it a bit denser. Best wishes.

    • Carolyn Harrison Says:

      This is all new to me, but yes I did heat the syrup to 250. I am going to try changing the brand of butter next time just to see. Have not had time to experiment with 3 little ones at home. Once #3 is a little more independant will be able to work at it. It is also a little hard as my house temp is 80 degrees. that definately does not help. I use a flour sugar milk paste based icing recipe which works well and is not too sweet and handles the heat and humidity well.
      Looking forward to the new recipe.

  4. Carolyn Harrison Says:

    Hi Tobey, Just wanted to let you know that Hon. Duncan Taylor (Govenor of the Cayman Islands) had a tasted of your cake recipe and called it delightful. Have a good day.
    Carolyn


Leave a Reply

