Figurines

May 5, 2013

Little Golden Angel with a Heart
4575344091_b5f917c11c_z%2525255B1%2525255D-001

When making a figurine out of sugar, it is best to use a combination of fondant and gumpaste to get a longer period of time to work the paste and position your figurine for drying.  It will take a bit longer to dry and you will have to factor that time into your piece.  For pieces that will take a bit of time, I use 50% gumpaste blended with 50% fondant.  The glue that I use is a glue made of gumpaste mixed with water.  Toothpicks serve as great tools to secure arms, legs and heads to the body.  The clothing and wings are made by cutting flower petals out of gumpaste..with the angel I used a tulip cutter.

Mermaid

4353577577_e35abba066_m

This little mermaid was made to sit off the edge of the cake, I dried the mermaid sitting off the edge of a cake pan the size of the cake to get the fins to dry the way I wanted them to dry.  To obtain a great and grand tail for the mermaid, I rolled the body out of a piece of 50/50 and used scissors to cut the separation.  I tooled the tail with my ball tool and the Dresden side of my veining tool to get the fine detail.. the waves are made of buttercream and this is a buttercream iced cake.  It is ok to combine buttercream with sugarpaste..those old rules about not combining the two mediums are just that..old rules..they don’t apply anymore.

Baby Shoes

4455254322_6b0a3f2239_m

For this baby shower cake, I made the baby shoes from a template which allowed me to make them from pure gumpaste.  They were allowed to dry in a natural position making them more realistic looking.  I applied the shoes to a round plaque so that they could be saved by the expectant mom for as long as she wanted them.

Leave a Reply

